Background Purpose and Vision Status Organs Activities Action Plan

Version Française

APUA is the Association of Power Utilities of Africa. In French it is called ASEA (Association des Sociétés d’Electricité d’Afrique).


Formally, APUA was founded on December 4th, 2012 during the Extraordinary General Assembly Meeting held in Algiers (Algeria) by the African power utilities members of UPDEA.

UPDEA is the Union of Producers, Transporters and Distributors of Electric Power in Africa. It was created in May 1970. Its headquartered are in Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire).

After 40 years of life, UPDEA member companies have decided to implement the recommendations of the study of a five-year Strategic Action Plan to rejuvenate the Union and make it more consistent with the current environment of the African power sector and more responsive to the aspirations of its members, including the change of name.

This has been done officially through the Algiers Declaration of December 4th, 2012 which extract are as follows:

We, Chief Executives and Managing Directors of Power Utilities in charge of generation, transmission and distribution of power in Africa, meeting in Algiers (People’s and Democratic Republic of Algeria),


Provide UPDEA with all means necessary to affirm its effective role of catalyst in cooperation and amongst its members and give it a real continental dimension fitting to actual environment; Implement a new strategy aiming to rejuvenating and transforming UPDEA into a sustainable organization that delivers value to its members;


Modify the Constitution and Bylaws of UPDEA to transform it into the Association of Power Utilities of Africa: ”APUA”
Give as mission to APUA “To bring together Power Utilities and Stakeholders towards making power more accessible, affordable and reliable for African peoples” Agree on following core values:
  • Integrity
  • Transparency
  • Accountability
  • Excellence
  • Trust
Reaffirm our vision «being the main catalyst of the access to electricity for all peoples of Africa in the years to come ».

However, it is important to remember the long way of UPDEA the ancestor of APUA since its inception in 1970.

Upon an invitation of the Energie Electrique de la Côte d'Ivoire - EECI, the organizations, firms and utilities producing, Transporting or distributing electric power in the under mentioned states:
  • Cameroon
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Gabon
  • Upper Volta
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Niger
  • Central African Republic
  • Popular Republic of Congo
  • Senegal
  • Togo
represented by their duly authorized delegates have met on 21st and 22nd May 1970 to review possibilities of establishing a Union of Producers, Transporters or Distributors of Electric Power in the African States, Madagascar and Mauritius Island. As a result of two days meeting and exchanges of ideas conducted in a friendly environment and a perfect understanding, the delegates:
  • Considering the prominent role played by electric power in development of their States,
  • Considering the specific nature of technical, economic and social problems met by the States in the fields of production, transportation and distribution of electric power
  • Considering the similarity of development level in their countries and consequently the similarity of problems faced in the field of their activities,
  • Considering that the international groups which are currently interested in problems posed by generation, transmission and distribution of electric power are mostly composed of members from developed countries whose concerns in this matter are of a size different from ours,
  • Considering that, for the benefit of all, it is advisable to put together our knowledge acquired in the field of electricity,
have decided to establish a Union of Producers Transporters and Distributors of Electric Power in Africa, Madagascar and Mauritius Island which is open to all organizations, utilities or professional groups operating as public services and in charge, in the various countries, of the industry of production, transportation or distribution of electric power.

On this ground, the delegates have appointed an interim Committee with the task to:

  1. Shape the draft constitution which was prepared on 21 and 22 may 1970
  2. Circulate to the participants all documents related to those days
  3. Get contacts with all utilities interested in African States, Madagascar and Mauritius Island in order to make them join the Union
  4. Propose a date and venue to hold the founding Assembly of the Union and a General Assembly as well


Meeting in Abidjan on 3rd, 4th and 5th March 1971, the organisations, firms and utilities in charge of production, transportation and distribution of electric power in the following countries:
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Popular Republic of Congo
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Gabon
  • Ghana (observer)
  • Upper Volta
  • Mauritius Island
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Senegal
  • Chad.
in agreement with the first resolution adopted in Abidjan on 21st and 22nd May 1970, have decided to create the Union of Producers, Transporters and Distributors of Electric Power in Africa, Madagascar and Mauritius.

On this ground, they have

  • Approved the constitution of the Union
  • Appointed an Executive Committee composed of representatives of the following member countries.
  • President: Côte d'Ivoire
    Vice-President: Liberia
    Vice-President: Niger
    Treasurer: Democratic Republic of Congo Members:
    • Ghana
    • Madagascar
    • Niger
    • Senegal
    • Approved the Bylaws of the Union presented by the elected Executive Committee.

    Tous Droits Réservés Copyright © 2019 | Contacts : (+225) 27 22 516 100 - (+225) 27 22 516 101 Fax :(+225) 27 22 516 119 |
    ESKOM (South Africa) SONELGAZ (Algeria) PRODEL-EP (Angola) ENDE (Angola) SBEE (Benin) BPC (Botswana) SONABEL (Burkina Faso) REGIDESO (Burundi)
    E²C-SA (Congo Brazzaville) CIE (Côte d'Ivoire) CI ENERGIES (Côte d'Ivoire) EDD (Djibouti) EEHC (Egypt) EEPCO (Ethiopia) SEEG (Gabon)
    NAWEC (Gambia) ECG (Ghana) VRA (Ghana) GRIDCo (Ghana) EDG (Guinea Conakry) EAGB (Guinea Bissau) KenGen (Kenya) Kenya Power (Kenya)
    LEC (Lesotho) LEC (Liberia) GECOL (Libya) JIRAMA (Madagascar) ESCOM (Malawi) EDM (Mali) ONEE (Morocco) SOMELEC (Mauritania)
    EDM (Mozambique) NAMPOWER (Namibia) NIGELEC (Niger) SONICHAR (Niger) TCN (Nigeria) SOGEM-OMVS ENERCA (CAR) SNEL (DR Congo)
    REG-GROUP (Rwanda) SINELAC (Rw-DRC-Bur) SENELEC (Senegal) RNT (Angola) MED (Sudan) SNE (Chad) CEB (Benin/Togo) CEET (Togo)
    STEG (Tunisia) ENGENCo (Uganda) ZESCO (Zambia) ZESA (Zimbabwe) CEB (Mauritius) AKILEE (Senegal)