Background Purpose and Vision Status Organs Activities Action Plan

Purpose, Vision, Missions and core values
Version Française


APUA was created with the purpose of promoting development and integration of the African power systems through the interconnection of networks, the exchanges of experiences and know-how as well as the pooling of energy resources in a win-win approach for all members.

Since 2002, UPDEA has adopted a new vision according to which, APUA must henceforth be the primary catalyst of the realization of access to electricity for all the peoples of Africa.

During the Extraordinary General Assembly Meeting held in Algiers in December 2012, APUA was entitled with the mission “to bring together African power utilities and stakeholders towards making power more accessible, affordable and reliable for the African peoples” and core values which are:
  1. Integrity
  2. Transparency
  3. Responsibility
  4. Excellence
  5. Trust
APUA works as a development institution working closely with the African Union and other African specialized institutions regarding power projects on the Continent.

As energy resources are not evenly distributed across the continent, APUA has committed itself after having actively participated in the inception of some of them to coordinate the forum of the African regional power pools in close collaboration with the African Energy Commission and the African Union Commission.

Thus APUA works to harmonize their master plans and in the exchange of information and experiences. The ultimate objective is to have an African interconnected grid that can enable power flow from North to South, Centre to West and East, etc.

Tous Droits Réservés Copyright © 2019 | Contacts : (+225) 27 22 516 100 - (+225) 27 22 516 101 Fax :(+225) 27 22 516 119 |
ESKOM (South Africa) SONELGAZ (Algeria) PRODEL-EP (Angola) ENDE (Angola) SBEE (Benin) BPC (Botswana) SONABEL (Burkina Faso) REGIDESO (Burundi)
E²C-SA (Congo Brazzaville) CIE (Côte d'Ivoire) CI ENERGIES (Côte d'Ivoire) EDD (Djibouti) EEHC (Egypt) EEPCO (Ethiopia) SEEG (Gabon)
NAWEC (Gambia) ECG (Ghana) VRA (Ghana) GRIDCo (Ghana) EDG (Guinea Conakry) EAGB (Guinea Bissau) KenGen (Kenya) Kenya Power (Kenya)
LEC (Lesotho) LEC (Liberia) GECOL (Libya) JIRAMA (Madagascar) ESCOM (Malawi) EDM (Mali) ONEE (Morocco) SOMELEC (Mauritania)
EDM (Mozambique) NAMPOWER (Namibia) NIGELEC (Niger) SONICHAR (Niger) TCN (Nigeria) SOGEM-OMVS ENERCA (CAR) SNEL (DR Congo)
REG-GROUP (Rwanda) SINELAC (Rw-DRC-Bur) SENELEC (Senegal) RNT (Angola) MED (Sudan) SNE (Chad) CEB (Benin/Togo) CEET (Togo)
STEG (Tunisia) ENGENCo (Uganda) ZESCO (Zambia) ZESA (Zimbabwe) CEB (Mauritius) AKILEE (Senegal)